Psychology: Home

It is the perfect book to help you succeed in your abnormal psychology course! Authors Barlow and Durand show you how psychological disorders are rooted in multiple factors: biological, psychological, cultural, social, familial, and even political. You can test your understanding of topics with the text’s built-in concept checks and chapter quizzes

ssentials of Social Psychology provides a clear, concise and engaging introduction to the field. Covering all the major topics and theoretical perspectives, this exciting new book provides straightforward explanation of key terms and concepts in a lively and student-friendly manner. Debates and controversies are brought to life and the wider practical relevance of the subject is emphasised throughout. Pedagogical features that appear across the book include Research Classic sections which describe classic studies, Research Applications boxes that highlight more contemporary developments in social psychological research and their practical applications, Real World features that look at the everyday relevance of social psychology, and Literature, Film and TV features that demonstrate how social psychological concepts are dealt with in popular media. An international balance of research alerts students to the cross cultural dimensions of social psychology Essentials of Social Psychology is accompanied by MyPsychLab, an interactive online study resource designed to help students to consolidate and further their understanding. Together, the book and online support make this an ideal resource for those studying the subject for the first time, or as part of a more general programme of study.

Psychology is one of the most intriguing scientific disciplines as humans are inherently curious about their own nature. Ironically, there are a multitude of theories and explanations that mislead and confuse the very same creatures that they are meant to describe. Allah has blessed us with guidance in all facets of our lives, including that of our own souls and psyches. Islam offers an uncomplicated, comprehensive, and precise theory of our spiritual nature, our purpose and priorities in life, and how we can attain serenity and happiness in this life and the next. This book is a humble effort to expound upon the true conceptualization of human psychology based upon the Qur'an and Sunnah. Moreover, Dr. Utz includes specific references to scientific research that corresponds to, and builds upon, what is already known from revelation.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

How do people cope with stressful experiences? What makes a coping strategy effective for a particular individual? This volume comprehensively examines the nature of psychosocial stress and the implications of different coping strategies for adaptation and health across the lifespan. Carolyn M. Aldwin synthesizes a vast body of knowledge within a conceptual framework that emphasizes the transactions between mind and body and between persons and environments. She analyzes different kinds of stressors and their psychological and physiological effects, both negative and positive. Ways in which coping is influenced by personality, relationships, situational factors, and culture are explored. The book also provides a methodological primer for stress and coping research, critically reviewing available measures and data analysis techniques.

Psychological Testing and Assessment: An Introduction to Tests and Measurements, 10th edition, is a measurement textbook that provides a sound grounding in psychometrics using a logical organization and pedagogical aids. The book is scholarly and authoritative while having a "hands-on" feel due to the authors' experience administering, scoring, and interpreting tests in various contexts. The content brings a human face to testing and assessments while balancing breadth and depth of coverage.

This is a book of great usefulness.' Written in the fourteenth century by the renowned theologian Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyya, this treatise movingly details the many blessings of the remembrance of God. Through discussions of the ego, the nature of the body, the ephemerality of the world, the degrees of prayer, fasting, charity, and the purification of the heart, this beautifully written work is a genuine contribution to Muslim spirituality. What makes Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyya on the Invocation of God of great interest is that it illustrates the spiritual life of Ibn Qayyim and of his teacher, the Hanbalite reformer Ibn Taymiyya

In the Fourth Edition of Scale Development, Robert F. DeVellis demystifies measurement by emphasizing a logical rather than strictly mathematical understanding of concepts. The text supports readers in comprehending newer approaches to measurement, comparing them to classical approaches, and grasping more clearly the relative merits of each. This edition addresses new topics pertinent to modern measurement approaches and includes additional exercises and topics for class discussion.

The eighth edition of this lively introduction places social psychology in a contemporary, real-world context and explores new, cutting-edge research as well as bringing classic theories to life. Thoroughly revised to enhance accessibility, and updated to include over 250 new references, this trusted, market-leading, cutting edged textbook remains as comprehensive as ever. Key features: · In-depth scientific coverage of social psychological theory and research · Combines UK, European and North American perspectives effectively to provide coverage with a unique global take · Updated and expanded coverage of morality, affect and emotion, rumour and gossip, trust and leadership, social media-based communication, multiculturalism, radicalization, deviance, and sexual minorities...

Students can find statistical analysis a challenging and complex task and, in order to master the techniques and complete their assignments and projects successfully, they need to have a sound understanding of IBM SPSS and its functions. Updated to be compatible with IBM SPSS 25, with handy screen-shots throughout, the seventh edition of this trusted and practical textbook will take students on a step-by-step journey towards carrying out a range of essential tasks with confidence: from performing an analysis to interpreting outputs and reporting the results.

Understanding Social Psychology Across Cultures Second Edition starts by asking why social psychology needs a cross-cultural perspective. It then examines cultural differences and their origins, before addressing traditional social psychological themes cross-culturally, for example group processes, self and identity, intergroup relations...

A major new reference work that provides an authoritative and fully up-to-date survey of the various clinical approaches to cognitive behavior therapy. Contributed by leading academics and professionals, the entries are presented in a rational and accessible format.

Offers unrivalled coverage of CBT approaches to a full spectrum of mental disorders
Contributors include many of the field’s leading experts
Covers the full range of CBT strategies, including new developments in the field, such as attention retaining strategies, acceptance techniques, mindfulness meditation, and disorder-specific emotion regulation skills
Provides practical guidance backed by a wealth of case studies
Includes the latest techniques and empirical data