Publisher Policies on AI: Citing AI

The following summary outlines the current recommendations for citing AI according to the MLA Handbook, 9th edition. It is derived from paraphrased content and direct quotations from the MLA Style Center article, “How do I cite generative AI in MLA style?”

 Acknowledging Use of AI 

AI use should be explicitly described within the body of the work.

The description should include:

• The specific AI tool(s) used
• How the tool(s) were used
• The exact prompt(s) provided
• Any relevant excerpts from the generated output
• An in-prose (parenthetical) citation and a Works-Cited entry

Recommended placement of this information:

• You may acknowledge use in a note, within the text, or another suitable location.
• For research-style papers, a brief note or a short mention in a methods/background section works well.
• For literature reviews, essays, or responses, include the acknowledgment within the introduction or as a note.

Citation Formatting 

MLA uses core elements (flexible building blocks). Apply them to generative AI and adapt as needed.

Notes about citation elements:

• No Author element: the AI tool is not treated as an author.
• “Title of source” = a description of the content generated (you may include the prompt; do so especially if the prompt does not appear in your text).
• Date format: Day Mon. Year (e.g., 8 Mar. 2023).
• URL: include a unique chat/transcript URL if one is available.

Parenthetical In-Text Citation:

(“Title of source”)

Reference List Entry:

Title of source. Title of Container, Version, Publisher, Date content was generated, Location/URL.

Examples

In-Text Citation : 

(“Describe the symbolism”)

Reference List Entry :

“Describe the symbolism of the green light in the book The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald” prompt. ChatGPT, 13 Feb. version, OpenAI, 8 Mar. 2023, chat.openai.com/.

The following summary presents the current recommendations for citing AI under APA Style, 7th edition. It is based on a combination of paraphrased content and direct quotations from the original source: APA Style Blog, “How to Cite ChatGPT.

 Acknowledging Use of AI 

AI use should be explicitly described within the body of the work.

The description should include:

• The specific AI tool(s) utilized
• The manner in which the tool(s) were used
• The exact prompt(s) provided
• Any relevant excerpts from the generated output
• An in-text citation and corresponding reference list entry

Recommended placement of this information:

• For research papers: include within the Method section (or its equivalent)
• For literature reviews, essays, or response/reaction papers: include within the Introduction

Citation Formatting 

Under APA Style, 7th edition, AI-generated content is cited using a modified version of the reference template for software (APA, 2020, Section 10.10).

Parenthetical In-Text Citation:

(Author of the model, Year)

Reference List Entry:

Author of the model. (Version year of the tool). Title of the model (Model version) [Description of the type of model]. Publisher. URL
Note: If the author and publisher are the same, the publisher name is omitted. This applies to ChatGPT.

Examples

In-Text Citation : 

(OpenAI, 2023)

Reference List Entry :

Text generated by [Tool name], Date, Creator/Developer, see Appendix for prompt used and output generated.

The following summary presents the current recommendations for citing AI under Chicago style. It is based on a combination of paraphrased content and brief quotations from the Chicago Manual of Style Online Q&A: “How do you recommend citing content developed or generated by artificial intelligence, such as ChatGPT?” The Chicago Manual of Style Online

 Acknowledging Use of AI 

AI use should be explicitly described within the body of the work. Chicago allows simple acknowledgment in prose (e.g., “The following passage was generated by ChatGPT”). For more formal documentation, use a numbered footnote or endnote (Notes & Bibliography) or a parenthetical reference (Author–Date). The Chicago Manual of Style Online

The description should include:

• The specific AI tool (e.g., ChatGPT)
• How it was used
• The prompt (include in the note if it isn’t already in your text)
• The date the content was generated
• A URL to the tool (optional), or a public link to the exact transcript if one exists (e.g., ShareGPT or A.I. Archives)
• If you edited the AI text, indicate this (e.g., “edited for style and content”). The Chicago Manual of Style Online

Recommended placement of this information:

• Prose acknowledgment where the AI content appears and/or a note at first use.
• For Author–Date papers, include any details not stated in the text within the parenthetical reference.

Citation Formatting 

Chicago provides two documentation systems. For both, credit AI-generated text when reproduced; don’t list AI in the bibliography/reference list unless there is a publicly accessible link to the specific content. Otherwise, treat it like personal communication (note or in-text only).

A) Notes & Bibliography (footnotes/endnotes)

Full note (first citation):

1. Chatbot name, response to “Prompt,” Publisher/Developer, Month Day, Year, URL (optional).
   —Example from CMOS: 1. ChatGPT, response to “Explain how to make pizza dough from common household ingredients,” OpenAI, March 7, 2023.

Subsequent (shortened) note:
2. Chatbot name, “Shortened prompt/title,” Month Day, Year.

Bibliography: Omit unless you provide a public, shareable link to the exact content. If you have such a link, you may add a bibliography entry (see template under C).

B) Author–Date

Parenthetical in-text reference:
(Chatbot name, Month Day, Year)
—CMOS example: (ChatGPT, March 7, 2023). Place any extra details not in the text inside the parenthetical. No reference-list entry unless a public link is supplied.

C) When a public link to the exact exchange is available

Only then add a bibliography / reference-list entry. Template:
Chatbot name. Response to “Prompt.” Publisher/Developer. Month Day, Year. URL.

Examples

Notes & Bibliography

Full note (first mention):

ChatGPT, response to “Describe the symbolism of the green light in The Great Gatsby,” OpenAI, August 8, 2023.

Shortened note (later mentions):

ChatGPT, “Describe the symbolism,” August 8, 2023.

Author–Date (in text) : 

… the theme clusters around aspiration and envy (ChatGPT, August 8, 2023).

Bibliography (only if a public link to the exact chat is provided)

ChatGPT. Response to “Describe the symbolism of the green light in The Great Gatsby .” OpenAI. August 8, 2023. <public link>.